Skip to content
Your purchase supports the museum's mission! Members always save 10%
Your purchase supports the museum's mission! Members always save 10%

The Jewish Deli: An Illustrated Guide to the Chosen Food

Original price $24.95 - Original price $24.95
Original price
$24.95
$24.95 - $24.95
Current price $24.95

A delightful celebration of Jewish delicatessens in an accessible comics format, full of history and humor, and guaranteed to make you hungry.

Beloved culinary and cultural institutions, Jewish delis are wonderlands of amazing flavors and great food—bright, buttery, briny, sweet, fatty, salty, smoky. . . . In
The Jewish Deli, comics artist and deli aficionado Ben Nadler takes a deliciously entertaining deep dive into the history and culture of this food and the places that serve it up to us across the counter.
Chapters guide readers through the details and delights of each major food category, all playfully illustrated and each more irresistibly noshable than the last, including:
  • Meat
  • Fish
  • Bagels and bread
  • Schmears
  • Soups and sides
  • Sweets
  • Drinks
A visual treat, this accessible and informative nonfiction graphic novel delivers stories of tradition and innovation, celebrations of iconic menu staples, flavor profiles, food preparations, ordering advice, spotlights on legendary and up-and-coming delis, and much more.

DELICIOUS HISTORY: The history of a people is found in its food, and in this book! Trace the history of Jewish cuisine from ancient days to the birth of the modern deli as we know and love it now.

DESTINATION DINING: When this book makes you hungry, plan a visit to one of the sensational North American delis featured in its pages, including Manhattan's Kenny and Ziggy's, Montreal's Schwartz's, Atlanta's The General Muir, Brooklyn's Shalom Japan, and many more

FOR FOODIES AND FOLKS ALIKE: Nadler shares colorful, researched stories of deli food, preparations, traditions, and innovations that entertain and inform, whether you're a deli expert or just find yourself wondering where bagels (or babka, or matzo ball soup, or the Reuben) come from.

FUN COMICS STYLE: Fans of
Relish: My Life in the Kitchen and Cook Korean: A Comic Book with Recipes will love Ben Nadler's fresh and colorful illustrated approach to the food and culture of the Jewish deli.

Perfect for:
  • The ultimate gift for foodies, deli devotees, and anyone hungry for more culinary knowledge
  • Jewish history and culture buffs
  • A must-have resource for all who love Jewish customs, cooking, and comedy
  • Pairing with Jewish foods or cookbooks for birthday, bar or bat mitzvah, Chanukah, or Passover hostess gifts
  • Fans of nonfiction comics and graphic novels